Bookmark |  Contact us |  Parents' Area       Nursery  07840 783 407 or 07742 458 852   Enquiries  07790 896 292


everything you need to know about our nursery school

The Early Years Foundation Stage

From birth to five


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the curriculum that all children follow from birth until the end of their reception year at primary school.

Our youngest children will focus on the three Prime Areas of Development, which are time sensitive and underpin other areas of learning.   These are:

  • Communication and Language (CL)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)   

As they get older and grow in confidence and competence, there will be greater emphasis on the other four areas, known as the Specific Areas   These are:

  • Literacy (L)
  • Mathematics(M)
  • Understanding of the World (UW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

More information about the EYFS can be found displayed in our entrance hall or on the Department for Education’s website: